Introduction and brief history

This Station was established by the Maharaja of Patiala in 1921 as his kitchen garden and remained under the Patiala State upto 1950. From 1950-56 it was under the PEPSU Government. Thereafter, from 1956-62, it was under Punjab Agriculture Department; 1962-70 under PAU, Ludhiana; 1970-78 under HPU, Shimla; 1978-85 under HPKV, Palampur and from 1985 onwards it became Fruit Research Station later renamed as Horticultural Research Station and was a part of Dr. Y. S. Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry, Nauni, Solan. From 2000 this station was assigned the additional responsibility of Re-mandated KVK until Feb, 2004 after which it was elevated to a full-fledged Krishi Vigyan Kendra for Solan district of Himachal Pradesh



To work towards a sustainable increase in productivity of both farm-based and non-farm enterprises that would result in a better socio-economic condition of the farmers.



To strive for the empowerment of rural communities, by providing them alternate means of income from agriculture based technologies and to improve the production, productivity and quality of the farmers’ produce through scientific interventions thus leading to sustained upliftment of socio-economic status of the farmers . In order to achieve the objectives, the KVK has to carry out activities as under in order to fulfil its mandate:

  1. To organize vocational training programmes in agriculture and allied enterprises
  2. On farm testing (on farmers' field) in crop production, horticulture, livestock production, fisheries etc.
  3. Frontline demonstrations on major cereal crops, oil seeds and pulses and other enterprises related to agriculture, and
  4. In- service training of field level extension officials


Contact Detail


Dr.Hem Raj Sharma
Principal Scientist and Head

Horticulture Research & Training Station & KVK,
Dr. YS Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry,
Kandaghat, District - Solan, Himachal Pradesh, India

Mobile: +91- 82199-60294
Phone: +91-1792-256232 (O)
Telefax : 91-1792-256232


Location map