The Department of Social Sciences, erstwhile Department of Economics, Sociology and Extension Education became a full-fledged Department in the year 1987 vide Notification No.5-112/87(GAD)/-800/-150 dated 13/11/1987. The nomenclature of the Department was changed to Department of Social Sciences vide Notification No. 5-1/92(26)(GAD)/-22469-505 dated 12.11.1992. Prior to it, the Department was a minor Department of the then Department of Agricultural Economics, HPKV, Palampur. The Department started the Doctoral programme in the field of Agricultural Economics from the academic session 1990-91. The Department is engaged in teaching the courses at the undergraduate and post-graduate level. The Department started MBA (Agribusiness) programme in the year 1997-98. Later in the year 2006-07 a separate Department of Business Management (Agri-business) was carved out from the Department of Social Sciences.


  • Train manpower with specialization in the field of Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics through resident instructions at undergraduate and postgraduate degree level.
  • Conduct research on in the area of Agricultural Production,Marketing,Finance and Natural Resources Economics and policy.
  • To impart Trainings to the Growers and Extension personnel of Line Department of Agriculture and other development departments.


Area of Specialization

  • Agricultural Production/ Farm Management
  • Agricultural Marketing
  • Agricultural Finance
  • Natural Resource Economics


Head of Department Contact Detail

Dr. D. D. Sharma
Professor & Head
Department of Social Sciences
College of Forestry,
Dr. Y. S. Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry,
Nauni – Solan (HP)-1713230

Phone:+91-1792-252333, 94186-79130(M)
FAX: +91-1792-252333 or 252242