College of Horticulture Nauni,Solan (HP)

Organization & Governance

The College of Horticulture is headed by the Dean, who provides leadership for overall functioning of the college. Besides implementing the educational programmes in the college, the Dean also coordinates with the Director of Research, Director of Extension Education and other Statutory Officers of the University in conducting the undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, student research and other activities related to teaching in the best of the University. The Dean is assisted by his office comprising one Deputy Registrar and a team of administrative staff, Heads of the Departments (HODs) and other faculty members of the college. There are nine departments in the College of Horticulture as listed below.

Organizational set up of the College of Horticulture

|--------------------------------- Dean ------------------
Departments of the college              Academics Administration
                                            (Deans’ office)

Besides the HODs and Statutory Officers, the Dean is also guided/ supported by various Statutory bodies of the College/ University such as the Board of Studies, Resident Instructions Committee, Academic Council, Board of Management and the Senate in matters related to general administration and conduct of educational programmes in the college.

Board of Studies The Board of Studies is constituted in accordance with Section 18 of the University Act and the Dean, College of Horticulture is the Chairman of Board of Studies of the College of Horticulture. In the absence of Dean, the senior-most HOD in the college acts as the chairman. The Secretary of the Board of Studies is appointed for a period of two years by the Dean from amongst the Professors and Associate Professors who assists the Chairman. The duties of Board of Studies are as
  • Propose courses of study for various programmes of instruction.
  • Determine curricula of different programmes of study.
  • Suggest measures to improve standard of teaching and for student assessment.
  • Suggest changes in academic regulations regarding admissions, instructions and continuance and examination of students in the college.

The Resident Instructions Committee is common for all the colleges of the University and has duties to review decisions of the Board of Studies of the colleges in matters related to academics before submitting them for consideration by the Academic Council. The senior-most Dean chairs this Committee while the other Dean and two Professors from each college are the members.

The Academic Council is the highest body of the University in academic matters and works under the chairmanship of the Vice Chancellor. The Dean, College of Horticulture, two senior Professors and an eminent horticulture scientist from outside the university are members of this Council from horticulture side. This body has the overall control and role for regulations in teaching and other educational programmes of the University.

The Board of Management is the highest governing body of the University that governs the overall functioning of the University and Dean of the college become member of this body for two years in rotation, and thus have a say in the functioning of the University.